Reinforcement from People Who Can Articulate Things More Succinctly Than I Can

As a follow-up to my previous post, I have this quotation from one of my professors this semester.  “Genre fiction is generic because it reinforces convention.”

Erin, my professor, went on to say that it is our job as writers to go against that.  Genre fiction gets a bad rap from many people because of this reinforcement of convention; it should not be a dirty word.

For me, this is encouraging to hear, for it means that I’m not the only writer who has thought about the bad rap that genre fiction gets.  I hope that any of you who are writers also take these words to heart.

About Hilary B. Bisenieks

Hilary B. Bisenieks (Biss-en-yex) n. 1. An author of fact, fancy, and opinion based out of Philadelphia. 2, A recent graduate of the Creative Writing program at Warren Wilson college. 3. A man often found wearing a kilt and a top hat, regardless of all but the most extreme weather. View all posts by Hilary B. Bisenieks

One response to “Reinforcement from People Who Can Articulate Things More Succinctly Than I Can

Leave a Reply

